8th Hrant Dink Award Ceremony to be held on September 22

Since 2009, the International Hrant Dink Award has been given in memory of Hrant Dink, who was born on September 15, 1954. This year, the award will be given for the 8th time.

Organized by Hrant Dink Foundation, 8th Hrant Dink Award ceremony will be held on September 22 instead of September 15, because Dink’s birthday coincided with the holiday this year. 

The ceremony will be held on Lütfi Kırdar International Convention and Exhibition Hall between 20.00 and 22.00.

Every year, the award is presented to people who work for a world free of discrimination, racism, and violence, take personal risks for their ideals, use the language of peace and by doing so, inspire and encourage others. With this award, Hrant Dink Foundation aims to remind to all those who struggle for these ideals that their voices are heard, their works are visible and that they are not alone, and also to encourage everyone to fight for their ideals.

Selection jury

This year, 2015 Hrant Dink Award laureate human rights defender Samar Badawi, 2015 Hrant Dink Award laureate LGBTI association KAOS GL, scriptwriter and producer Atom Egoyan, thinker Étienne Balibar, Secretary General of Reporters Without Borders (RSF) Christophe Deloire, thinker Michel Marian, poet, author and literary critic Murathan Mungan, feminist author and human rights defender Şirin Tekeli and Hrant Dink Foundation Chair Rakel will be in the selection jury.

The ceremony on September 22

The award ceremony will be streamed on www.hrantdink.org and www.hrantdinkodulu.org both in English and Turkish, starting at 20.00. The details of the ceremony will also be available on ‘Uluslararası Hrant Dink Ödülü / International Hrant Dink Award’ and ‘Hrant Dink Vakfı / Hrant Dink Foundation / Հրանդ Տինք Հիմնարկ’ pages on Facebook and on ‘@HrantDinkOdulu’ (in Turkish), @HrantDinkAward’ (in English), '@HrantDinkArm’ (in Armenian) accounts on Twitter.