4 HDP MPs give statement to the prosecutor

HDP MPs Mehmet Adıyaman, Osman Baydemir, Ahmet Yıldırım and İmam Taşçıer have been taken into custody today to give statement to the prosecutor. They are released, after they have given their statements.

HDP Group Deputy Chairman Ahmet Yıldırım and Urfa MP Osman Baydemir were taken into custody, while they were following a hearing in Diyarbakir courthouse. 

Early in the morning, Diyarbakir MP İmam Taşçıer was also taken to give a statement to the prosecutor.

Diyarbakir Chief Public Prosecutor's Office launched an investigation against Taşçıer on the charges of “insulting Turkish government”, “insulting the president” and “insulting public officials on the basis of their duty”.

HDP Iğdır MP Mehmet Emin Adıyaman was also taken into custody in a police raid to his house on this morning.

Four MPs are released after they have given their statements. A ban on leaving the country is imposed for Adıyaman.

Statement from HDP

HDP Central Executive Board made a statement on detentions: “Unlawful detention of our MPs is unacceptable.” It is also stated that “such practices drive Turkey away from universal human rights, principles of law and democratic values day by day.”




HDP detention